My Thoughts on Yeezus

yeezus-new-cover

As this is a hip-hop blog, I feel like I need to address Yeezus, since it is obviously a huge deal to the rap game. However, I will not write a usual post about Yeezus, because my usual posts deal with music that I like. I do not like Yeezus. I found the album absolutely horrible. First of all, it only has ten tracks, which is weak considering Kanye has not released a solo album since 2010. Secondly, and more importantly, it simply does not have the usual lyricism and meaning that Kanye has been able to deliver in the past. Yes, New Slaves is meaningful. But outside of that one song, it sounds like an album any mainstream rapper could make. The beats sound like dubstep, and I think that might be why supporters are trying to say the album is “new age” hip-hop. In my opinion, people who call the album futuristic just don’t want to admit that Kanye dropped a bad album. Maybe from another artist an album of this quality would be acceptable, but from someone as traditionally great as Kanye, it was ten tracks of pure disappointment. Sorry for the rant.

One thought on “My Thoughts on Yeezus

  1. Pingback: YEEZUS « WNDRFL STAGE

Leave a Reply

